Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

A tale of snails and slugs

I am very fond of snails and quite fond of slugs. But there is a place for everything and our flower pots and troughs are not the place for them. I refuse to use nasty poisons and so I am experimenting with putting copper tape around the pots. It is said that snails and slugs receive an electric shock when they touch the copper and then retreat. Just after midnight I ventured out, torch in hand to see if it works. It doesn't! Back to the drawing board.

Extra! Meanwhile, the local slugs were climbing up the house wall and congregating in a writhing, slimy ball on the window-sill. They seemed to be having a great old time and I can only imagine that an orgy was taking place. More slugs will doubtless be the outcome of their nocturnal gathering.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.