Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

It's all a bit worrying

Ladies and gentlemen, this is the most terrifying thing I have ever witnessed. . . . Wait a minute! Someone's crawling. Someone or . . . something. I can see peering out of that black hole two luminous disks . . . are they eyes? It might be a face. It might be . . . good heavens, something's wriggling out of the shadow like a gray snake. Now it's another one, and another one, and another one. They look like tentacles to me. There, I can see the thing's body. It's large as a bear and it glistens like wet leather. But that face, it . . . ladies and gentlemen, it's indescribable. I can hardly force myself to keep looking at it, it's so awful. The eyes are black and gleam like a serpent. The mouth is kind of V-shaped with saliva dripping from its rimless lips that seem to quiver and pulsate. Radio Broadcast, New England, USA, 1938.

You come across some strange, perhaps terrifying, things if you poke around in old abandoned buildings. Is this a piece of military hardware left behind in 1938 when the Martians last invaded Earth?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.