Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Good grief!

I started my day with a quick read of the i newspaper (outstanding value at 30p) whilst enjoying a cuppa of my favourite tea, Yorkshire Gold (cost less than 4p even if I make just one cup from a teabag).

My jaw dropped when I opened page 2 to see what my wealthy betters spend on items for a cosy tea party:

1. The Royal China Club in London offers a pot of Imperial Red Robe brew for £180. I could make 5,000 cups of my favourite brew for that!

2. A single cup of Kopi Luwak coffee, made from beans that have passed through the odorous inner workings of a Palm Civet will set you back £75.

3. If you are at all worried about what passes for water in London then you could make your brew in Kona Nigari, a desalinated seawater from the deep ocean off Hawaii. Excellent value at £235 for 750 ml.

4. You will need a few macarons. Why not go for pâtissier Pierre Hermé's bespoke range, a snitch at £4,300. I presume that you get quite a few for that!

Mr Cameron is clearly quite right, we are all suffering equally in our current economic mess. But some more equally than others!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.