Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

Let's Talk About Symbolism

Very humid today. The window air conditioning unit is struggling with the humidity. It's rained off and on. Nova and I are once again melting in front of the fan. It's humid enough that Cosmo and Tuxie have been keeping us company in front of the fan for most of the day.

Today on Facebook one of my good friends posted something about British subcultures. It was a bit interesting, but what really caught my attention was the Confederate flag patches on the woman's jacket.

Now, I'm not gonna get into the huge Confederate flag debate that's currently raging here in the US. That's not my intention at all.

What interests me so much about it, is wondering if she even has any idea what the hell it is she's wearing. What it symbolizes. She has patches of Elvis as well. Maybe they're related in her mind.

But it makes me want to ask all of you non-Americans on here a question.

Without going to look it up, what do you (non-Americans) know about the American Confederate flag? There's really no right or wrong answer. I'm not asking you the actual details behind the flag, but rather what you personally, and even your cultures, know/believe about the American Confederate flag.

I think it could make a very interesting conversation topic.

Americans are also more than welcome to join in on the conversation, because many Americans seem to not know all that much about the history of the Confederate flag, either.

Hope you all are doing well. Take care. Love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.