LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

Bubbles...

Everybody loves bubbles... it's official!

There were several who scoffed when I said I was taking my bubble gun with me to my voluntary post at zone 23... cause bubbles after walking 23 miles are really going to help!! Well the smiles that came and the ladies who thanked us for making them smile were worth every bubble we blew!

Even when you've walked 23 miles and you're in pain and knackered... you can still raise a smile when you see two very sad muppets, posing as lolly pop ladies(!), dressed in the most fetching luminous yellow t-shirts (over several layers of clothing) looking like Michelin men who have been drenched and vaguely dried, grinning like idiots and talking utter shite while swearing loudly at the wanker drivers who don't slow down and clapping for Edinburgh's gorgeous taxi drivers who waited at green lights to let very tired walkers cross the road whilst blowing bubbles. Everyone loves bubbles!

It's been a looooooooooooooooong night!! The heavens opened just before FilthyTwitcher and I left my flat to go to Inverleith Park to the start of the Moonwalk. Last minute decision to volunteer through the night and we got the jobs of Marshals. We went armed with enough provisions to last a week out into the rain with a whole heap of other people to support all the girls (and the blokes) wearing their bras for 26 miles/8ish hours round the city in aid of Breast Cancer. There were some fabulous outfits, fairy lights and wigs... and the women looked great too!

I saw a few friends along the way, including Jackblack so hats off to them for taking part and raising money for a worthy cause. It's fair to say that having stood around in the pissing rain for about 12 hours, I'm a little bit stiff, a little bit knackered and fairly sure that I'll reconsider my plan to actually do the Moonwalk next year.

Thank you to FT for the giggles!

Bubbles rock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.