New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Hraunfossar

(Backblipping ... )
Before heading back home to Akureyri, we visited my parents in law at the nursing home, said good bye to them and then hit the road. The drive was uneventful until we were approaching Borgarnes. At that point I asked my husband if we couldn't drive "on the other side" of Borgarfjörður (not on the main road), as I longed to see some new sights. He made a quick U turn, and we ended up taking a very nice detour. First we visited Hraunfossar (where this picture is taken), and then continued our drive to Húsafell where we had lunch. Then we continued to Reykholt (the home of Snorri Sturluson, our famous writer, from 1206-1241), before heading off to the main road again. This detour resulted in a three hours longer trip but I loved it. It almost felt as if we were on a mini-holiday.  
P.S. There are some extra photos to look at, down to the right on this page. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.