If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Jersey Cow

I was up early to get off the show field before the stream of trade stand staff blocked the gate.  Too late!  I had to take a gate into the public car park and cross a field to be able to drive out.  After I finished the jobs at the Lodge I got back to the show mid afternoon (ish).

I had time before we started packing up to have a good wander round.  I tend to concentrate of the cattle and sheep lines as many of the shows we go to don't have animals.  Having spent the majority of my working life having close contact with live stock (no not the children, he knows who I mean that was thinking that) it is good to renew the acquaintance.

I had many shots I could have used, from the jersey li8ne where each exhibitor had erected a gazebo over their animals to provide shade, the bull waiting for the grand parade being patted and stroked by a girl standing cheating to its lady handler or the Land Rover from the local Agricultural college with a window box on the front bumper.  Not to mention some very classy machinery.

For reasons I can't explain the shot of the eye of this Jersey cow was the one which appealed most.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.