Plus ça change...

By SooB

Fruits of my labours

Well, not that I really did much work for them.  Obviously the best thing to do before you go on holiday is harvest a load of stuff from the garden...  The courgette and beans were part of dinner, the tomatoes are in a box to hopefully make it to Britain, and various out-of-shot goodies are stashed in the freezer (along with all the truffles which, sadly, I decided wouldn't survive the long long journey tomorrow.)

Today was (you'll never guess) really hot.  Lots of rushing around, while pretending to look after a neighbour's kid.  Last minute shopping, work at school, garden sorting and packing.  Lots of limit setting on exactly which bits of the house were available for the roller-blade foot/hand ball game the boys had invented.  Later I bribed them to stay still with a movie and ice cream.  

The guy who has done some work for us in the garden before came round and agreed to water my plants and get stuck into some garden clearing while I'm away.  As always, we chatted too long.  

There was also a long convoluted conversation between our wood supplier and Mr B (via me) about some wood for our terrace that I feel sure we decided on ages ago.  All settled now.  

I am officially rubbish at leaving to go on holiday.  One day I will leave calmly, after a full night's sleep, with the house left in show-home condition to welcome us back...  Well, one day, but not tomorrow.  But still, most things are in or near suitcases, and I only have a small list of things to do in the morning, which is just as well given the 5am departure time. 

Zzzzzzzzzz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.