Plus ça change...

By SooB

Travelling

This stamp on my train ticket was not reassuring.

Loooooooong day. The first too-early start was caused by a loud bang, the second by a meowing cat in my bedroom (I don't have a cat) and finally the alarm clock put an end to a shabby few hours of sleep.

Packing finished, lost iPod found, rubbish out. A buzzing noise from the circuit breakers was met with a firm lalala response from me (later I started panicking that the house would burn down).

And so flying, train across London, long wait at Kings Cross as I had been excessively conservative in how long to allow to cross town. Various news camera crews provided some amusement, but I resisted the temptation to phone my Dad and then walk up and down in the background. Train up north, fastest car hire ever, shopping and back to the family seat for chicken and chips.

And relax....

Today's 10 year anniversary of the 7/7 bombings was marked with a minute's silence on the train from those who understood the announcement. Doesn't feel like that long ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.