Plus ça change...

By SooB

Wet wet wet

Dry all day actually, but then after dinner the heavens opened and we had about an inch of rain in ten minutes (I know that sounds unlikely, but that's how much water was in the previously empty birdbath) happily only a bit of it came into the house.

Life's been a bit full on lately - with me feeling that there were just too many balls up in the air. Happily all the balls were neatly filed away yesterday just when I was at the point of collapsing. So I deemed today a rest day. Unfortunately I seem to have forgotten to book the day off with the relevant authorities. The slightly put upon feeling drove me to suggest to the kids that they cook dinner one night this week. They leapt on this idea with way more enthusiasm than I expected and, worrying questions about the food processor aside, I am optimistic. Requested ingredients include capers and chilli flakes... When I was a young teenager I made a three course celebration meal for my parents' wedding anniversary which was, in retrospect, a little ambitious (at the time I felt my substitution of Harvey's Bristol Cream sherry for the required Madeira was inspired... Well, you have to work with what you have...). Steering the kids towards Nigel Slater was probably sensible.

Despite nearly 12 hours in bed last night, I am exhausted. Not all 12 hours asleep, as Mr B's snoring is now loud enough to defy earplugs and a pillow on my head. Enough already. My parents both credit their continuing marriage to deafness - real and selective. Sensible folk. Telly, wine and a snooze on the sofa now....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.