St. Mary's

A walk into the city today for a couple of things I will need for my next trip. The weather forecast was promising heavy rain and thunder storms from about midday onwards. I decided to chance my luck by not taking raincoat or umbrella.

I need not have worried about the rain, clear blue skies, I was actually a bit overdressed and feeling slightly too warm. The rain and thunder arrived eventually, but I was back by then. The rain was indeed very heavy, and flooding is already being reported in various parts of the city. Water leaks are also occurring in the Bon Accord/St Nicholas shopping centres. The council is issuing sand bags!

It all seems quite strange since rain is not an unusual event in Aberdeen. Floods are normally the result of the rivers rising due to sustained heavy rainfall upstream of the city. This rain has only been falling for just over an hour!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.