One Shot and He Was Gone!

Today I was to be found happily pootling about in the garden looking for a blip for TinyTuesday when I heard an unfamiliar bird call behind me. Carefully glancing over my shoulder, imagine my surprise and delight when I saw that this sparrowhawk had just landed on the ground behind me, just 12 feet (or 3.6 metres) away - I know because I went to get a tape-measure after he'd flown away! Of course, my camera was on all the wrong settings, so I made a very rapid adjustment, fired off one shot and he was gone, carrying something in his claws! I was so excited, I am amazed that my one and only attempt was clearly focussed on the sparrowhawk's eye, even though he was behind a weed. I can only imagine that I had disturbed him when I went into the garden and that he had come back to retrieve his prey!

So no TinyTuesday blip again - sorry!

Thank you so much for all the great comments, stars & hearts on yesterday's MonoMonday: Winter blip -  I'm so very pleased you liked it!:)

Ann

Day 101 of Blipout2015, suggested by PaulFS,  making the most of the daylight by only blipping outdoor photos until the clocks change in October

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.