Abandonné

How can it be possible to develop a bad relationdhip with a town? 20 years ago Lady Marian and I, early in our relationship, became quite frustrated trying to find our way out of Grasse to the Gorge de Verdon. We found the turning eventually but my teeth marks are probably still in the steering wheel of that car.

Today we made a return journey down the winding roads. We'd left early in an attempt to beat the heat of the day. When we got to Grasse we drove around looking for somewhere to park but the main car park has a height restriction of 1.9 metres. My van is 2.1 metres. After searching for a long time we left before marking the steering wheel with my teeth (but only just) and didn't get to see the glories of this medieval town from ground level.

Being blipless, I went out this evening Iand headed up the causse on more winding roads. I took the wrong turning for where I was aiming but carried on as I knew that up this way were the military training grounds. In my extras are a couple of shots of an abandoned village that is used by the French military for exercises. I'd been there once with Bruno last year. Having taken some shots I carried on and came across this abandonned Chapel, again surrounded by warnings of 'zone militaire' and 'traversee de vehicles chenille' (I think that means tanks). My blips are all taken from the roadside (I had no intention of stepping on anything unexploded) but I could see no sign of any damage to this little chapel.

Thanls for your thoughts on the crop of yesterday's. I'm of the opinion that although there's a bright area in the top, which may distract from the interest in the lower portion, the narrow street does make that high narrow format work. Always good to hear your thoughts though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.