I've just cleaned that!

Having just finished cleaning out the conservatory, including cleaning 28 windows, I was none too pleased to find flies immediately coming in. Then I found two unusual ones. I thought they might be something special.
 
However, I discovered that one was just the female of the common House Fly (in extras) and the other, this one, was a Yellow Dung Fly (although it is green, so likely to be a female also). I may be wrong with these identifications and would love someone to tell me that they are something much more interesting.
 
The Dung Fly lays its eggs in cowpats, so this one had probably just done that in the field below the house and then come in to my very clean conservatory! They are good for the garden though as they eat lots of other insects. There is some debate as to whether it should be Dungflies or Dung Flies - the latter name just begging the answer 'only if you throw it' - took me a few seconds too!
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.