Off the Wall

Just a lizard, a common lizard (Lacerta vivipara), I think it's a female and she was patrolling the wall around the garden. She hid from me initially but once I ignored her and moved more stealthily, she ignored me too. It's a very contrasty shot so I though a conversion to black and white made a better picture of it.

We've had a day of out and out war on this moth that you'll see in my extra picture. It's Paysandisia Archon also known as the Palm Tree pest and is responsible for laying waste to palm trees throughout the mediterranean area. They're very large and very hard to kill. The best method we've found is for Bruno to catch them in one of the nets used for cleaning the pool, like a butterfly net, then I get a tray under it to seal the exit and one of us stamps on it until we hear the crunch. I'm sorry if it sounds barbaric but they are a terrible pest.. I'm not sure why but they don't seem to have any natural predators in this area.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.