Dourlin - Côte de Granit Rose

This morning one of my friends from the village joined us and brought piles of croissants and pastries for breakfast. Linda and Roly are joining Derek and Gill (who were camping with us) at their house in St Pol de Leon for the week. Then we set about packing things up and the four that I travelled over with were heading off to catch their ferry. It was sad to say goodbye to everyone, we've had a great time and it's going to be a bit quiet for me now. 

I stopped in Roscoff to get some supplies and then decided I'd stay and have lunch there as the campsite I was heading for would probably be closed in the middle of the day.

It's a big municipal site and right on the coast on an island called Grand Ile which is joined to the mainlamd by a bridge.. My pitch is right on the edge of the site, facing out to sea. When I was set up and had had a cup of tea I went for a walk to see what was there. As I got out on the coast path, the first thing I saw in the distance was a little harbour with a lighthouse in the bay. What a treat, I headed down there straight away. It's not a full size lighthouse but it is quite a charming little tower set on its own rocky island, as you can see in my blip. I went back at about sunset time but with lots of cloud cover there was little happening. I've put a few shots on Flickr if you're interested.

It's been a much cooler day today with a few spots of rain. As I sit in the van I can hear some heavy rain falling too. I do hope it brightens up again. It doesn't feel like the lovely July weather we've been having since I arrived in France.

Many thanks for comments stars and faves on yesterday's sunset. It's doing quite well but not reached the very high pages of the populars. I'm hoping I'll be able to do a little more commenting on your journals, I've made a start today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.