Breton Sunset

Today is the day of the Artichoke Festival in St Pol de Leon. There were lots of festivities but as we had the first day of rain since we've been in Brittany we had a slow start to our day and then we cycled in.

The town square was full of Breton dancers in their traditional costumes and the different areas are represented by different dress but all with strong black and white theme with some very intricate patterns. The headgear is different too. Most of the women wear starched linen headdresses and the men wear black hats of different varieties and patterns. The largely pipe based music was interesting to hear in its different forms and the dancing quite lively and beautifully performed. There seemed to be a lot of young people involved, much more than is likely to be the case with British folk music and dancing. I found it more interesting to take candid shots of the performers and I've included one as an extra.

This is the last day before people go their separate ways. The ones I travelled over with are returning on the ferry tomorrow and I will head off to the pink granite coast for a few days. We went out to Les Embruns, a restaurant which is a short walk along the seashore and my main blip today is a shot of the beautiful sunset which ocurred while we walked back to the campsite.

Once again, thank you for your comments, stars and faves on my recent shots while I'm unable to return comments. I hope at my new site I may have an internet connection and more time to be able to comment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.