Remembering The Few

I love photographing aircraft and snapping that Spitfire over our nursery last Friday, the seventy-fifth anniversary of the Battle of Britain, whetted my appetite.

I've been to a commemorative display at North Weald airfield today. It's not far from here. MrQ was entertained on set when the Battle of Britain film was being made there and my son used to work there voluntarily when he was trying to get into aviation.

Standing chatting with aviation geeks made me realise how much I have picked up by researching my shots. I was even able to put them right. My father, who was in the RAF, would have been proud. My pic shows a Spitfire and a Hurricane. The Spitfire was the 'thoroughbred' and the Hurricane the 'workhorse', a winning partnership.   

"The gratitude of every home in our island, in our Empire, and indeed throughout the world, except in the abodes of the guilty, goes out to the British airmen who, undaunted by odds, unwearied in their constant challenge and mortal danger, are turning the tide of the world war by their prowess and by their devotion. Never in the field of human conflict was so much owed by so many to so few. "     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.