A BUSY DAY

A quiet morning at home and then it was all go.  I got the bus to Gateshead and walked down to the river.  Crossed over to the Newcastle side and had a wander through the Sunday Market.(see extra shot )  Lots of lovely food on offer - but I resisted temptation.

The main reason for going to town was to go on a tour of The Guildhall ( in my blip shot ) organised by the City Guides.  The brochure said " arrive early to ensure your place"  The tour started at 3.30pm and as I was passing the Guildhall at around 2.30pm I noticed 2 people at the door - one with a clipboard.  So I asked if I could put my name down and I paid my £3.  So I had about an hour to kill.

I wandered up to Grey Street where the Newcastle Motor Show was taking place.  Its the first time Newcastle has held this event.  There were over 100 cars on display.  I have put a couple of extra photos on showing one of the older models  and one of the fancy new ones.  I am not a car person but it was great to see so many great cars on display.

Made my way back down to The Guildhall in time for the tour to start.  The Guildhall is not normally open to the public except on National Heritage Days so it was a good opportunity to see parts of it I hadn't seen before.

I have actually been inside the building many times before but only on the ground floor.  Douglas and I - together with Becky and Neil when they were little - used to go there regularly when they held Antiques Fairs - usually once a month. But the upstairs rooms were out of bounds.

So today we saw the old courtroom, The Mayors Parlour and The Merchant Adventurers Room - see my extra photos. The talk by the guide was very interesting - a lot of facts and dates to take in. 

After the tour I got the bus into the centre of town and popped into Tesco ( just before it closed ) and then came home.

Had a quick snack and then did some gardening.  Then Neil arrived so I made a meal for us both.  After all this activity I was ready for a quiet evening in front of the TV.

Steps today 12,357

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.