Student living

Had an appointment at my building society this afternoon to sign my will.  That was over in no time and afterwards I got the bus to Newcastle.  I went to the railway station to collect my train tickets from the self service machine. Then I had a good look around the shops.  Got a top in a charity shop for only £1.  Got some dressed crab in the Grainger Market.  And a bit of food shopping in Tesco. 

The student accommodation in my blip shot is being built near the railway station.  Reading the hoarding made me realise that students these days seem to expect a higher standard of living than I would have thought.  When Neil was a poor student living in Heaton ( part of Newcastle ) he lived in various  student flats  which were decidedly on the rough side - and he loved every minute.  The batch of students moving into this new accommodation will enjoy a studio room which includes:~

*  A fitted kitchen
*  En suite shower room
*  weekly cleaning
*  A 40" television
*  Free contents insurance
*  A kitchen pack including all essentials
*  An Egyptian cotton bedding pack
*  A free breakfast
*  Broadband
*  24/7 security
*  24 hour gym
*  A movie and games room

The price they will pay for such accommodation ranges from £155 to £196 per week. Newcastle has a thriving student population and there will be plenty of takers for this block of flats.

Steps today - 12,808

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.