MONO MONDAY : AUTUMN

Thinking "outside the box" again, which you know I like to do - I guess you could say that Mr HCB and then I are in the "autumn" of our lives.  

So here is a "selfie" of us - in Mono - to fit in with today's challenge of Autumn!.  I have to say we don't do selfies that well - Mr. HCB laughs nervously and I grit my teeth and tilt my head to hide the various lines and wrinkles - but we are what we are and the years have left their marks.

We had spring, when we were children - Mr HCB had a very happy childhood with loving parents but sadly, mine was very different. Then summer arrived - we got married 47 years ago, brought up our two wonderful sons, and now, with both of them having flown the nest, we are maturing together - like fine wine and decent cheese, although if you could hear us chatting and laughing together sometimes, you might not consider us that mature! 

It hasn't all been "moonlight and roses" and we have had our "ups and downs" like most people.  However, God has blessed us so much and our Christian faith has sustained us through the difficult times in our lives, and, of course, we are grateful for the many friends who have shared, and continue to share, our journey with us. 

As we move into this "autumn" season of our lives we enjoy each other's company, we allow each other space, we are well - except for the "odd twinge" - we have enough money for ourselves and to share, and we are happy - so what more could we wish for?

We really believe "the best is yet to come" - and look forward with hope - and that includes Mr Hcb's team winning at cricket this week!! 

The Lord says:
I will still be the same
     when you are old and gray,
           and I will take care of you.
I created you. 
     I will carry you
          and always keep you safe.
Isaiah 46:4
Contemporary English Version 

P.S.  This is being posted a bit later than I had hoped because we found a wasps' nest up in our roof, so I had to ring the Council Pest Control Department to ask them to come and get rid of it - that was a quick way to spend £55!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.