FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

History on my door step

This crumbled doorway is all that remains of Lenham village's workhouse mortuary built in the mid 18th century. In the late 19th century it was used as a Parish gaol and an air raid shelter during World War Two. It was suitably reinforced in the mid 20th century according to the sign on the old door.

Lenham village has a colourful past and can be traced back to 850 pre-dating the Doomsday Book. Read more about the history of Lenham here

I captured this photograph of an often overlooked part of the village this evening after being forced to park the far side of the village square. The bell ringers are practising this evening so there's more cars than usual for a Monday evening.

The bells are ringing a rather sombre tune befitting of a 'Mono Monday'. If I close my eyes I can almost imagine how life might have been in Medieval times when the church was built. But I'll save that story for another day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.