FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Bookcase envy

Any writer will understand that bookcase envy is a known affliction. I frequently stare longingly at bookcases wherever I see them whether at a friend's house, country house, hotel or old book shop.

This evening after a lovely dinner at my friend's house we retired to her new 'reading room', which is the second half of the sitting room now separated from the television and sofas by a storage unit complete with interesting books.

I browsed through a book on Highgrove, Prince Charles' Gloucestershire country estate, and a 1940s book on Motherhood with some interesting advice.

My friend showed me an old book from her other bookcase written by Louise M Alcott author of Little Women. I never knew the story continued with Little Wives and Jo's Boys. I must get copies.

I snapped this shot of a book collection on one of the shelves that caught my eye. I feel inspired to seek out an old bookshop this week and find a new old treasure for my own bookcase. Watch this space...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.