'Runaway'

I decided to stay an extra day in Michigan so that I could go spend some more time with my Uncle and Aunt.  They now live in Grand Rapids, about an hour away from my cousin.  We had a good visit, catching up on lots of news and talking quite a bit about Family Tree.  My Uncle was very involved with the Selleck Family Tree and he knows I am very interested, so we hope to spend more time on that on my next visit. 

It was a beautiful day and I love to drive the back roads through the beautiful Michigan farmland.  On the way home I stopped in the historic town of Coopersville.  I'd never been there before.  There's a working Vintage Railway line which I think would be fun to do on a future visit.  The town looked like a bit of a ghost town on a Sunday afternoon, but it looked like it had some interesting places to eat and a few stores.  There's also a Farming museum and a Train museum.  I also found out that it was home to singer and songwriter Del Shannon who perhaps is best known for his recording of 'Runaway' from 1961. 

This picture shows a plaque commemorating Del Shannon, in front of the Train Museum.  

There are a few extra photos in this Flickr album.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.