Whakatere-The Navigator; by Brett Graham

Early flight to Wellington, and then the morning and early afternoon spent chairing a committee meeting. Then off for a run with my camera. Near the end of the run, in Bowen Street just behind the Beehive, I saw this sculpture in three parts. I had to get some distance away to get all three in to the one frame, crossing the road and standing on a corner.

I found the following information about the sculpture:
The sculpture refers to navigation; the waka (canoe), manu (bird head) and tuaku (an altar of stones built on arrival). They acknowledge the site which is near the original shoreline, and close to where waka were launched and kaimoana (seafood) was gathered. They also acknowledge the papakainga (housing on ancestral lands) in the vicinity, and the proximity of Parliament (just to the right of this shot).
Throughout Polynesia the navigator is exalted as pathfinder, innovator and visionary; qualities necessary for discerning leadership. The sculpture was erected in honour of Henry Lang (1919 - 1997), a long serving secretary to the Treasury, who was instrumental in establishing the Wellington Sculpture Trust.

The gate post on the right is by the exit of a path running behind the Parliamentary buildings. I have cropped the photo to omit a man walking on that path as just after I took this photo, and contemplating another, he spotted me and put his hand up to obscure his face and walked out and past like that. I decided to respect his clear wish to not be photographed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.