There's gold in them clouds

We stayed last night at the beach house; rather unexpected by me as I had not processed the family arrangements which had been made. So this morning was an early start to get back to the hospital to start work.

The morning was very foggy. I was left wondering how I had coped with the fog for the first 60 km of the drive, when for the last 10 km or so the motorway signs kept informing me that there was fog and that I should take care. Happily everyone had been taking care from the time I started at Snells Beach.

Had I been more alert to the possibilities offered by a foggy morning just before sunrise, I might have realised that a roadside lay-by where a mobile coffee vendor plies his trade would provide a fabulous sight. As it was I past and unable to turn back, with only a quick glimpse of the fog filled valleys between the rolling hills out to the Hauraki Gulf, with the incipient sun rise bathing the clouds with colour.

Instead of that, my blip is from the other end of the day. A short run after work, and I saw this from the corner of Great North Road and Sussex Street.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.