TinyTuesday7

How on earth, you may be asking yourself, can this picture qualify for the tinytuesday challenge! Well, I think it does, as it's the entire Milwaukee Harbor area in teeny tiny little detail!   
Some of you may recall my writing that my friends & I toured the "Cancer Show house" to raise money for cancer research. On the way out of the show house they  have a gift shop, with a portion of all gift shop sales going to cancer research as well. In the shop I found this bandanna--designed, drawn & silk screened by local artist Hannah Jablonski. When I saw it, I remembered Jennie saying that she always wants her baby to remember where her family came from-- so I bought it, had it framed & I shipped it out to her this morning--so I'm hoping she doesn't look at my blips until after it arrives on Friday or it will ruin the surprise! 
If you look at the bottom right side you'll see a circle with 4 pieces of cheese surrounding the outline of the state of Wisconsin & with a beer mug in the center of the state. That's because Wisconsin is "America's Dairyland"--we  produce lots of dairy products, including cheese (& hence, the term "cheeseheads" when referring to the fans of our beloved Green Bay Packers football team), & the beer stein because the people of Wi. consume more beer than any other state (most likely due to the influx of a great number of German Beer Barons into Milwaukee in the 1800's & their drinking heritage has remained)!
To the left of the circle  is the Lake Express--a big catamaran that can cross the Lake in 3 1/2 hours, as opposed to the old Lake clippers that took 6 to 6 1/2 hours! The smiley face is our summerfest grounds--home to our numerous summer festivals. In almost the middle of the picture, above the summerfest grounds is the red, flowey building with the "wings"--the Milwaukee Art Museum designed by Santiago Calatrava. If you look directly up toward the top, above the art museum, you'll see the Old North Point Water Tower (in yellow). And of course Lake Michigan, & the many activities available upon it--boating, swimming, para-sailing, canoeing, jet skiing, fishing, water skiing-- along with hike/bike trails that go along it's shoreline, kite flying, beach volleyball, etc., etc., etc. Many of these landmarks have been featured in some of my previous blips, & of course my "frozen" series of pics were mostly taken along the edge of the Lake.
 I'm thinking it'll be a great pic for the baby to enjoy as she gets older, & I can't believe how many of the features of the area were fit onto one little piece of fabric by this talented artist! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.