If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

A little beauty.

After yesterday's fireball blip I thought I had better go for something a little less spectacular.  One of the highlights (well at least for me) of the fair is the regular attendance of some steam Traction machines.

There is a full size which is a regular attender pictured in my last year's blip.  So I felt it should be the turn of the small fry.  There were quite a selection of miniature traction engines and steam trucks.  One gentleman even had a tiny steam train running along the old railway embankment giving people rides on a "carriage" (well mobile seat holding half a dozen or so).

This particular machine was built by a lady we met last year and is a true scale replica of the larger ones.  Sorry I can't remember the scale but I think enough shows in the background to give scale.  When she sit on it to drive her head is just above the roof.  A point I had never considered, as it is road legal she is delighted at the demise of the "tax disc" as it was the one thing which destroyed the scale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.