If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Troutbeck Inn

An uninspired shot today due to unusual circumstances.  The main jobs of the day were unloading the trailer into the studio.  We have a month before the next show and it is for Richards business so things could go back in place.  That was followed by buying a new dishwasher for our holiday let.  All this meant no time for photography.  I wasn't worried as I would have the evening.

The best laid plans of mice and men gan aft a glye.  Just as we were sitting down to our evening meal the phone rang.  I heard Clickychick say "yes he's here just coming".  As she handed me the phone she said the name of the caller.  My thought "It can't be".  Sure enough it was a friend I have only seen once in the last 40 years.  When we taught together we had many activities in common, we climbed together, I helped him with his PE clubs etc.  Careers took us in different directions and we lost touch.

Now he was telling me he was cycling the C2C and was in the hotel just up the road.  Did I fancy a pint?  After a quick check that my chauffeur was happy it was agreed.  The result was an extremely pleasant evening but only a snatched shot of the hotel sign as we went in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.