If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Common Spotted Orchid

This is a tentative identification so if you know better please tell me.  In the afternoon we popped down to the church so that CC could put some flowers on her Mum's grave.

Many years ago it was agreed to leave parts of the church yard to become meadow in the hope that they would develop many wild flowers.  I was pleased to see that they are continuing with this but the areas weren't as full of flowers I had hoped and certainly not as full as another church yard a few miles away.

I spotted this lone Orchid growing among the grass and took a shot.  Common Spotted Orchids like calcareous soil and while our area isn't particularly limey there are old over grown paths near by which were made of limestone chippings.  They also like unimproved grassland which the area certainly is.  So until somebody corrects me I am going with Common Spotted Orchid (Dactylorhiza fuchsii).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.