The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Notes from the bench

On this day, 15th July, 2012, I became a blipper. A few days later I was offered a job at the school in Stroud where I'd been volunteering for a short while, and my anxieties about the future were laid to rest.

My only regret is that I didn't take up blipping earlier. From January to July 2012 I had two badly-paid obs in Gloucester, and often spent times wandering around the city's charity shops, too skint to go to a cafe....I could've had a lot more fun and educated myself whilst looking for blips!

In the main, I've had a blast, and posted some frankly dreadful photos, and some better ones too. I value the opportunity to write every day, and to connect with people far and near. I've always been a far better writer than a photographer, but my visual sense is sharper now. I see things differently. I've become a lazy commenter, as my work hours have increased to twice their original, and the arena has shifted to a more active environment. This will change again in December, so I may have more bliptime again.

Thanks for sticking with me and my journal. I'm not going anywhere yet. Apart from on holiday to Cornwall in about three weeks' time....

This is my lunchtime bench at work. I couldn't choose the nearer one because the marquee hire firm were taking down the tent on the lawn. So I chose the one that our nursery children play on when we go out 'on the field'. I noticed for the first time the elaborate nature of the scrollwork.

Oh, and I finally cracked and got some antibiotics for my sinus infection! I'm looking forward to feeling well again sometime this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.