Bee Magic

White tailed Bumble Bee in the Lavender near my window.
Having read my way through  Hilary Mantel's 'Wolf Hall' & 'Bring up the Bodies', I'm still so entranced by her writing, I've gone to her 'Giving Up The Ghost' her memoir of childhood. Her writing is every bit as vivid, in this, as the novels. Here's a wee flavour :
" Outside our house Grandad has grubbed out a bed  for Nasturtiums & trained them to climb up a wall. He calls them strorshions and says you can pickle & eat the seeds, good in what they call a sallet, but I think, what a waste. My whole vision is filled with these pale leaves, these flowers. When I try to put names to their Imperial colours, to the scarlet and striated amber, my chest seems  dangerously to swell, I imagine them as musical instruments, broadcasting stately & imperial melodies from their own hearts, because their shape is like Gramophone horns, that I have seen in pictures. "
Happy reading dears. X 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.