Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Postcard from Murdoch

Hello everyone, 

I am having a great holiday here in the mountains. My mum and I are doing long walks every day, and I get to jump into the streams and water troughs to cool off. Today I thought we were not going out...she was so busy hoovering and spraying stinky chemicals all over the bathrooms and then ironing that I almost gave up. When she went off on her bicycle to the supermarket and left me at home I thought she really had forgotten about me today.

But no, after lunch she put that backpack with her camera and lenses on her back and said 'Come on, Murdoch" and I knew we were going out. It was so hot and the first half of the walk was all uphill. I was quite pleased when she finally saw some butterflies and we could stop while she took photos. But then we carried on up and up and I was getting so hot and she was muttering about turning back. Then we saw the view, and she took this photo of me and I took this one of her (not really, but you know that).

After a short rest we started downhill again and there were some scary moments when we passed huge cows who looked at me funny and started making bellowing noises, and my mum had to abandon the footpath and go scrambling down the mountain side with me very close at her heels.

It has been a great day but I am now very tired. I have loved these walks with just my mum and all the special attention that I am getting. But I am also excited because my dad comes back tomorrow.

xx Murdoch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.