Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Kites

After church on Sunday I decided to go for a drive and see a little more of the countryside near to where I was staying. As it happened I didn't go very far and found myself just a little further up the coast at Fairbourne.

Fairbourne has a miniature steam railway but I decided to give that a miss and walk along the coastal path instead.

On reaching Penrhyn Point there wasn't anywhere left to walk and I was faced with two choices: either take the small passenger ferry across to Barmouth or retrace my steps to take another path that leads to the eastern end of the long Barmouth Bridge from which one can walk across the estuary into Barmouth. Either way, I would still have to return to Fairbourne at some point to collect my car.

Neither option appealed greatly at the time, so I decided to get myself a coffee from the vending machine at the Fairbourne railway terminus at Penrhyn Point and then sit and watch the world go by for a while. There would be a miniature train departure back to Fairbourne in about an hour and the weather was pleasant enough to sit outside.

What I didn't know beforehand was that Barmouth was holding its annual kite festival that weekend, so watching that added to the interest and gave me a subject for my daily blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.