A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Old Hall

This old hall above Goit Stock at Cullingworth used to be my home. I lived there as a child and up to the time when I left home to get married. The hall itself dates from the early 17 th century and is similar to others in the area ( two in Harden ) that lay on the old pack horse route between Bingley and Halifax.

In my childhood it was a working farm, the farmhouse being out of shot to the right. The late 20th century buildings to the left used to be the main barn containing mistles for the cows, a dairy, pig styes and hen batteries, all now converted into houses.
The cottage with the white door was where I lived with my family and my bedroom was to the right of the round window.

I have blipped it before but passed it on this morning's early walk which was a circuit of Cullingworth and felt it was worth another shot, not least because was quite a damp and grey start to the day. It was very muggy and warm too. Bright and breezy now and I have got two lots of washing dry on the line including all my walking gear.

My extra is one of the shots my son took on his 3 peak challenge. This is the last one to be completed in the sun on top of Snowdon. There was quite a bit of snow at the top of Ben Nevis!

Have a nice weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.