Lowry Mill

I am giving a presentation next week, and said - No, what they want me to talk about does not involve Mills. Which is true. But despite the fact that that appeared to be their focus, they still wanted me to talk, so I am going to say a little bit about Mills as a postscript.

Which means I have taken some photos. This is Lowry Mill, branded such as it is around the corner from where LS Lowry lived between the ages of 25 and 61. A significant part of his life. Originally Newtown Mill, it lies opposite a very well kept bowling green - he painted both in the 1920's when this building was 30 years old - and next to the now long gone Newtown Colliery. It is now an office building, "well appointed" in the jargon, and with a range of tenants who can also enjoy its gymn and cafe cum restaurant. So it has an afterlife, and looks good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.