Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Party Time in the Forest

Bit of a departure for me tonight, I've been photographing that most difficult and oddly rewarding of subjects - people.

Those who frequent this blip journal will know that portraits take very much a back seat to every other genre in my photographic repertoire. I'm not sure why, but I suspect it's because of my introverted character; I'm incredibly self-conscious when I'm behind the camera around people and sometimes I feel just plain awkward! However it's something I'm looking to put behind me as I'm challenging myself to take portraits commercially - ideally environmental ones of people in the surroundings they feel comfortable with, in a one on one situation. That's more like my thing I reckon.

Anyhow, back to the Blip. Tonight was the Peel Forest Ball at the Hall in the Village. Mrs H and I weren't quick enough off the mark to get tickets, but I got the call up from the organisers to swing by and take some photos for posterity and to use for marketing for next year (as well as for journalistic purposes - keep an eye out in the Courier, South Cantabs..).

As I was on my way to the door to head home after my stint, these young ladies struck a pose for me on the dancefloor, so I couldn't resist to take their photo. The lights of the band were oversaturating them with colour, but with my X100T set to the already punchy Astia film simulation, they're really popping in this shot, hence the choice for the blip.

I'm not sure of their names - and have no model releases, oops - but needless to say, girls, if you are perchance reading this, thanks for making this photo with your sass :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.