Kendal

Tim's Birthday today :)  We checked out of our guest house in Harrogate and drove to the Lake District , stopping in Kendal along the way.  Had a wander around the town, stopped for a coffee, then bought lunch to eat down by the river.

Drove on - the pretty route, via Windermere and Ambleside - to Keswick, and got to our holiday house mid-afternoon.  Unfortunately, my teeth/gums were still incredibly painful, so I phoned a couple of local dentists - only to find there was no chance of getting an appointment.  Used the emergency NHS number instead, and they offered me an appointment at 7pm in Carlisle.  Good old NHS!

Tim opened his presents - at last! - we got a bit of shopping in and had an early tea (soup for me), then he drove me all the way to Carlisle.  The dentist filed down one of my fillings (almost instant relief from the tooth pain I'd been getting), advised me to get some 'super floss' and mouthwash and prescribed me antibiotics.  Once again, good old NHS!

Edit: Just realised this is my 1000th blip!  Bit boring, innit?  Ah well, I'm backblipping, so no opportunity to do anything more exciting.  It's been a great 1000 days on Blip - I've loved being a part of this community, have really appreciated all the comments and stars along the way, and must apologise for how slow I often am to respond.  I do drop in on your journals from time to time, but wish I could be better about that, too.  I'll try to make more effort for the next 1000 days at least...!  :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.