Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

New glasses

Back blip No. 2 (18.7.15)

Wow; was so tired last night, I think I was in bed by 10pm! Unusual for me, but according to my clock, it was 1am.

Woke up early (of course) but couldn't get showered and out because for some reason, the combi-boiler isn't heating the water! Argh. Waited till 8am to report the fault, then had to wait for the maintenance man to come. Ended up waiting nearly 3 hours but in the meantime, the place got hoovered and lots of things got sorted and put in place!

Hit Specsavers in Guildford first thing as my prescription is so high, the high compression I require for my glasses needs a two week lead time, so I had my eyes tested and then a chat about all the options available. Long story short; I have got used to my varifocals but there is an area where they're not working so well - for computer work - which of course is what I do the most; so the new ones (hopefully) will solve that problem.

Had a wander up and down the Guildford's High Street which I have to say I really like; then a shop for essentials (food) and back home to sort out the internet connection. I went into 3 to buy a voucher but was told to go home and buy it online. I said about not having a card registered in the UK but was (emphatically) told that wasn't a problem. Came home and of course - it IS. ARGH!!! Another day with no internet and the O2 signal in the Surrey Hills is rubbish! Not happy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.