Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Planetarium

Back blip No. 3 (18.7.15)

Got to do something I've been wanting to do for AGES... that is to visit the London Planetarium again. The last time I went it was near Madame Tussaud's. Now it is near the Royal Observatory at Greenwich - which is nice but it seemed to take the longest time to get there (car/train/tube/DLR/taxi). Public transport. Ugh!

Anyway, we made it to the Solar System/Galaxy show which only runs during term time, so this was almost the last chance. The show was amazing and as it was such an effort to get there, we booked for the Dark Universe one that immediately followed it! Needless to say, you're left feeling pretty puny and insignificant...

My picture is of the view when you start to head back to the railway station. Greenwich Park is impressive but there wasn't any time to appreciate it as an internet connection still needs to be sorted, and I needed to get to a 3 shop before the end of the work day. Stopping at a petrol station to buy a voucher and top-up didn't work for some reason. I was later to discover it was because 3's website wasn't functioning properly. LONG story that involved getting on a bus to Lewisham... needless to say - I expressed to the man in Mumbai how much stress and inconvenience this has caused - for which he (says) gave me an extra 3GB to appease me.

Got back to the car in Surbiton whilst it was still light. First time that I can remember, BUT - at last - I am connected again! Too bad I didn't have the energy/motivation to blip. The day had been way too stressful. Three things that went well were getting the semi-fast train to Waterloo; then without any planning by God's grace, we got fast trains from Lewisham to Waterloo East, and Waterloo to Surbiton. G says I can't function without an internet connection. I'd like to say she's wrong, but she just might be right! Argh!

PS. My extra pic is one of the details on the walls outside the Planetarium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.