Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

A morning walk

This morning we had a walk down from the old village (Chorio) to the harbour area (Yialos) to do a little bit of shopping before the day tripper boats came in. We met a few people we recognised from previous visits and had quite a long chat with one of them, a young lady from Lithuania married to a Greek man, who was enjoying the calm before her storm of trying to usher as many day trippers as she could into her restaurant. After a drink and a sandwich we got the bus back up to Chorio to drop off the shopping before heading down to the beach to cool off. We walked back again - definitely earned tonight's beer!

This shot is of one of the old houses on the Kali Strata, the main way down from the village. Due to the population of Symi being only a tenth of what it was 100 years ago, and also the German occupiers blowing up an ammunition dump at the end of the war, there are lots of ruins on the island which gives the place a wonderful atmosphere. I took quite a few shots I could have used for my Blip so as I can't add extra photos on the iPad I have added a few to my Flickr page here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/10435524@N07/sets/72157655661693119

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.