Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Keepin' it simple...

Firstly, thanks to everyone who stopped by yesterday to join me in celebrating my 1,460th consecutive blip!  Loved all the comments, stars and hearts - such a lovely community of people.

Yesterday afternoon, my "bestie" Kura came out from NYC - we went out for a leisurely lunch, a little retail therapy and then back to the Lane to just visit.  Grilled steaks for dinner, accompanied by a nice bottle of Oregon Pinot Noir that Kura brought with her.  More gabbing.  Breakfast out this morning, then a round of Dominos before I took Kura back to the bus stop for her trip back into the City.  

It's blazingly hot and humid today, so my trips into the yard have been brief.  However, I was lucky enough to spot this beautiful, fresh female Eastern Tiger Swallowtail in the garden - and she was accommodating in posing for some photos before she fluttered off.  They are one of our showiest butterflies and a delight to photograph because they tend to nectar with their wings spread wide open.  Haven't seen many yet this summer but perhaps they are just emerging now.  This one was in great shape, so assume she recently emerged.  

Three other pics from today on Flickr...
A gorgeous orange-ish sweat bee
A bodaciously big (and pretty) Garden Spider (skip this if you don't like spideys)
and
an assassin dispatching a fly (in the Predation Series)

I am still swatting the air around my head - damned floater is driving me nuts!  The doctor did say that it might take 2-4 weeks for it to subside a bit.  In the meantime,  I keep thinking that something is flying past my head, or dangling from my hair.  I look like a crazy woman.

Hubs is on his way back from Watkins Glen, NY, where he had an excellent weekend racing!  He managed a 3rd place win today in the Pro IT series - making him a very happy racer!  As for me, I'm looking forward to having him home tonight.

Cheers, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.