Tarawera Times

By Megl

Ice surprise

The dilemma...what would I blip. So often it can be difficult to find one blip, but today I had two very different shots that I wanted to share.

With a good frost this morning the bird bath water was frozen, cracked it and lifted a piece up and found some interesting icicles underneath. So popped it on a piece of blue paper and shot it with my macro and extension tubes. It was not until I got them up on the screen that I saw this really ghoulish head emerge, quite bizarre as it has so much detail.

So my rather delightful "bottom's up" kereru (wood pigeon) got relegated to the extras. There were two of them denuding my kowhai tree and they were quite happy to continue eating while I was less than a metre away. This chappy really wanted the last leaf on the branch which meant hanging on with one foot to reach it. A bit of aerial ballet occured before he fell and with a great fluttering of wings reached a more secure perch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.