A Box of Memories

Dear Diary,

This is a decoupage box I made and it holds all the left over foreign money from my trips.  The two bill protruding from the box are from my trips to Russia and China.  Those trips were beyond amazing and just holding the bills brings all sorts of memories flooding back.

The outside of the box is covered with copies of letters, notes and envelopes from my treasure trove of family artifacts.  The one that fascinates me the most is a letter addressed to my mother, 23 June 1939.  This must have been right after her graduation from high school.  What is so interesting to me is the only address on the envelope is, "Carmel, Putman County, NY". 

Imagine a time when you didn't need a street number or even the street name and there was no such thing as a zip code.  The post office in Carmel, NY new who Jane Creed was.  The letter would reach her.  Simpler times.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.