A Soft Pink Cloud

Dear Diary,

I hobbled out to the meditation garden for a few minutes to sit next to this amazing flower.  Over 5 feet high, the Joe Pye Weed is in full bloom and the soft pink cloud of tiny flowers was worth the painful trip.  Such an unfortunate name for such a wonderful flower.  I need to tie it to the fence to support the flower clusters.

Thinking about this flower made me realize how often we judge a book by its cover...failing to go deeper to discover what lies beneath the shabby or worn out cover.  It is so easy to do...to make quick judgements and then walk away.  If I just read the name "Joe Pye Weed", and didn't see what it would look like, I probably would never put it in my garden and that would have been a mistake.

Our cool days are over with temperatures climbing today into the high 80'sF.  I can only hope the humidity doesn't climb too.  I did make a short visit to see Dotty yesterday but today I will just rest on the porch.  Today is day three of the back pain and the best I can say of it is that it is no worse and I will take that as something positive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.