Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Baby Quail On The Run

Take a peak at Peter Pyrrhuloxia, taken yesterday!

Baby Gambel's quail!  I caught two of the five that were scampering around the yard with their parents.  I first noticed them when I was in the kitchen and the babies were running around near my patio door.  I went for the camera, but as usual, there was no card in it - it was still in the computer from yesterday.

By the time I got everything ready to go the entire family was over by the wall.  They came flying out past the garden gnome (which is only 5 in/12 cm tall) and beavertail cactus and I was quick enough on the trigger to catch two of the fleeing buggers as they flitted by.

I try to anticipate where they will go so that I can focus the camera on the next spot hoping they will track there.  I do it with the adults all of the time when they are alone.  That's why I am reasonably successful capturing them.  I'm one step ahead.  But with the families, all bets are off.

Best to GO BIG on this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.