Last View

This is the last view of my old and ugly kitchen!  Tomorrow is finally day 1 of my kitchen refit!

When I moved into this house 8 years ago, I had hoped to redo the kitchen in the first year or two.  It was already close to falling apart and certainly wasn't pretty.  But other unexpected repairs and projects demanded my time and money and this just kept getting postponed.  I've worked very hard to save what I had hoped would be enough to pay for the new kitchen outright.  I didn't quite succeed in that goal!  New kitchens ARE expensive, but I do think it's a good investment.

Now that everything has been packed up and moved out, it really looks even worse than I thought!  One of the doors kept wanting to fall off and I finally just ripped it off a few months ago.  The perfectly decent dishwasher was donated to a charity a few days ago.  

The builder arrives tomorrow morning at 10am.  We still don't know whether Wickes will release the kitchen itself from the warehouse.  The problem with the paperwork is totally theirs and they take full responsibility, but it will take a senior national manager to authorise bending the stupid bureaucratic rules! 

My dining room will serve as my temporary kitchen.  Dolly became very upset when I moved the remaining items there just before bed.  She really doesn't like feeling unsettled!  I'm coping slightly better than she is!  

This kitchen will take 2-3 weeks.  I hope to not bore you with a constant update, but I do plan to take pictures every day to chart the progress.  Maybe I'll use the 'extra photos' for that most days.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.