Thai Sanctuary

Today was day 1 of my kitchen makeover.   In addition, I had a friend come to stay for 2 days.  She was working in the area and needed a place to stay.  “As long as you don’t mind chaos!”, I said!    Since I have no working kitchen, we did the obvious – went out to eat!  We wandered down to the local Thai restaurant in our village and had a very yummy meal!  It was like a peaceful sanctuary after the noise of the demolition today!  
 
Kitchen Update:
There’s still no word on the problem with dispatch and delivery.  The builder was very hesitant to start tearing things up this morning without knowing for sure when it was coming.  I’m picking up that he is very much a pessimist – even though Wickes is working on a solution and say that the kitchen is likely to arrive by courier on Wednesday, he is convinced it won’t get here until the 29th, which is the original but ‘incorrect’ date assigned to me because of the their stupid paperwork error.   He’s worried that he’ll rip out the old kitchen and then I’ll be left with that empty shell for 10 days.  He also doesn’t like the courier option for various possible but unlikely scenarios.  After MUCH discussion, I asked him to start and assured him I am prepared for the possibility that it might not get resolved and I’d be left with a half finished building site for over a week.  At least SOME progress would be made!  The alternative would be to put off the entire project for 10-14 days.  I wasn’t prepared to do that! 

While he didn’t demolish the whole kitchen, he did enough work that the electrician can start his work tomorrow, Tuesday.   Much more progress will be made then, I’m sure. 

See the extra photo for how things look today! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.