Journey Through Time

By Sue

The Hummer - Again

Well, technically not 'again' as this isn't the same hummingbird.  But I sat out back for awhile and the birds were putting on a show.  So, as I wasn't all that thrilled with my photo from yesterday, even though it showed off the color nicely, I decided to go with this one.  Bill was happy that his "Red Bird in a Tree" plant (Scrophularia macrantha), once commonly known as Figwort, made a come back this year.  The hummers are happy about it also.  OH!  And Bill was delighted to see the mourning doves and their babies show up to drink at the fountain.  I missed it. :(

Actually, I missed a good shot today.  I should have taken the camera with me as I went to a Chinese Herbalist place to get an analgesic lotion that is quite popular with folks and it's something my Aunt Bobbie (yes I have more than one aunt out there) uses for severe arthritic pain as does her daughter.  She combines it with a Western medicine and between the two, she is a lot more comfortable now than she once was. So, I found out where to get it and drove over to Portland today.  The place is a bit dumpy, which is too bad as it could be fixed up cute, but this Chinese man has all sorts of stuff in all these jars on the shelves.  I might have gotten a fun photo out of that place.  Oh well.  Maybe next time.  The stuff is called Zheng Gu Shui.  Lots of people on line love it, but the Chinese man said his own mixture was much better.  But I wasn't ready to plunk down $60 to try his concoction.  He and I had a lovely talk about this man, who is a part of Oregon history.  He said he went there to see where Doc Hay lived.  It would be interesting to see this place, I think.

And that's about it from this part of the world.  Tomorrow I'm seeing my aunt and my cousin, who is visiting from Eureka, CA.  I'm going to take them to a few places for shopping.  Then probably back to my house.  Anyway....see ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.