Days end

I snuck up the Port Hills after work and I'm glad I did. It was relatively mild for the time of year, a light breeze and magic light. It was well worth the effort even though I'm tired.

Biking home I stopped to chat to a friend who was at his front gate watching his kids walking the dog down the road. 

He's as proud as can be of his kids. He told me about their latest achievements and surprisingly, he told me of a couple of disappointments.

His 10 year old son made a silly gesture in a sports club photo so he made him write a letter of apology. When he came home from school with a certificate he didn't deserve, he made his return it.

How refreshing. In an era where I see kids of all ages devoid of manners, displaying a staggering sense of entitlement and inability to take responsibility for their actions, I was amazed.

He and his sister will grow up with integrity - just like their Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.